The Short Commentary on the Tantra of Twenty-one Homages to Tārā called “The Treasure Vase of

Benefit and Happiness”

by Thupten Shedrub Gyatso.

The Victorious Lady



1 8 15
2 9 16
3 10 17
4 11 18
5 12 19
6 13 20
7 14 21


namas tathāgatôṣṇīṣa-vijayânanta-cāriṇī |

aśeṣa-pāramitā-prāpta-jina-putra-niṣevite ||

namaḥ (n/V) – adoration, homage; tathāgata (m) – the thus gone (i.e. the Buddha); uṣṇīṣa (m, n) – an excrescence on the head of the Buddha, a turban; vijaya (m) – victory, triumph; ananta – boundless, infinite; cāriṇī (f/V) – moving, walking about; aśeṣa – without remainder, perfect, all; pāramitā (f) – leading to the opposite shore, perfection; prāpta – attained, reached; jina (m) – victor, a Buddha; putra (m) – son; niṣevite (f/V) – visited, frequented, practised.

Homage to you born from the Tathāgata’s crown

Who enjoys boundless total victory,

Relied upon by the Sons of Conquerors

Who have achieved perfection.

The forth praise is to Namgyalma,Tib the “Victorious Lady”, the “One Who Has Accomplished Immortality.” The “Wisdom Goddess” of wisdom mantra, who emanates from the crowns of the Tathāgatas1, enjoys total victory over the boundless disruptive forces. Her complexion is golden, and she holds a vase of longevity. Bodhisattvas who have achieved the ten bhūmis 2, the essence of the ten transcendent perfections, without exception, rely on her guidance as their spiritual mother. She enriches practitioners by dissolving the fourteen subtle essences of the animate, inanimate, and other subtle essences of saṃsāra and nirvāṇa3. In reality, she has achieved the sacred, unchanging body of eternity through the intention of Atiyoga4, the crown of nine yānas 5.

1 Tathāgatas skt ~“Thus Gone One”, an epithet of Buddhas.

2 ten bhūmis skt ~ The progressive levels of realization through which practitioners pass as they journey toward complete enlightenment.

3 nirvāṇa skt ~ The state of liberation from the sufferings of cyclic existence.

4 atiyoga skt ~ The highest of the three inner yogas, the summit of the nine vehicles (yānas), according to the classification of the Nyingmapa.

5 nine yānas skt ~ The nine vehicles or levels of accomplishment of the Nyingmapa tradition that represent progressive stages of attainment.